Champagne and Aishihik First Nations

The Champagne and Aishihik people and government are named after two historic settlements: Shadhäla (Champagne), located on the Dezadeash River; and Äshèyi (Aishihik), at the headwaters of the Alsek River drainage. Champagne and Aishihik Dän (people) also lived throughout the region in other villages including Kloo Lake, Klukshu, Canyon, Shäwshe and Hutchi.

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (CAFN) has more than 1,200 members and is one of the largest of the 14 Yukon First Nations.

The CAFN traditional territory is situated in southwest Yukon and extends into northern BC. The CAFN Traditional Territory spans 41,000 square kilometers in total (29,000 in the Yukon and 12,000 in British Columbia). The eastern edge of CAFN’s Traditional Territory lies in the Yukon River watershed, while the larger, westerly portion lies in the Alsek River watershed which flows into the Gulf of Alaska. Much of Kluane National Park and Reserve and all of Tatshenshini-Alsek Park (BC) are part of CAFN’s Traditional Territory.

Today, CAFN’s main government offices are located in Haines Junction, in addition to a busy office in the territorial capital of Whitehorse.

Did you

Castle Rock was one of the first companies in the Yukon to become COR certified.

Northerm produces the only quad pane window manufactured in North America.

Northerm has one of the largest manufacturing plants in the Yukon at 35,000 square feet.